E-Rokk’s Band of the Week 4/16/07

My pick for band of the week this week is Maryland’s own Clutch. Clutch is quickly becoming one of my all time favorite bands.

Their standard release albums include:

PITCHFORK 7″
PASSIVE RESTRAINTS E.P.
TRANSNATIONAL SPEEDWAY LEAGUE: ANTHEMS, ANECDOTES, AND UNDENIABLE TRUTHS
CLUTCH
IMPETUS
THE ELEPHANT RIDERS
PITCHFORK (CD)
JAM ROOM
PURE ROCK FURY
LIVE AT THE GOOGOLPLEX
SLOW HOLE TO CHINA
BLAST TYRANT
ROBOT HIVE/EXODUS
PITCHFORK & LOST NEEDLES
FROM BEALE STREET TO OBLIVION

I have always liked Clutch since I first heard The Elephant Riders, but I never gave them the attention they truly deserved. That is until December of last year when I picked up a copy of Robot Hive/Exodus. I was blown away by what I heard. The first thing I noticed was how different their lyric style was from so many other bands, I love how they understand that the singer’s voice is just as much and instrument as the rest of the band’s gear, and they really play on that making sure all of the lyrics flow beautifully with the rest of the music. Two great Examples of this are “The Incomparable Mr. Flannery. On top of all that, Neil Fallon’s voice is just awesome to listen to. Tim Sult’s guitar work mixed with Dan Maines’ bass and Jean Paul Gaster’s drums makes for one of the most powerful bands I have ever heard.

My two favorite albums by Clutch at this point are “Pure Rock Fury” and “Robot Hive/Exodus”, but they are all worth checking out. I am like a rapid dog trying to get my hands on everything they have ever recorded.

I will make this very simple for you…buy their albums, listen to them as loud as you can over and over again, thank me for telling you about them then go spread the word of their music to the world.

“Come a little closer honey I won’t bight ya. One more lager and I might learn to like ya!”

Leave a Reply

