THE MIXTAPE BIN: THE OFFICIAL CHAMP KENNEDY OVERPLAYED COVER SONGS MIX

Here at Hey Stupid Champ Kennedy is known for many skills, but he is the unchallenged mixtape champ of the staff. He often keeps the site rocking as we write, so I feel it’s my duty to periodically let you, the readers, know what keeps Hey Stupid rocking. As Rob Gordon once said: “Now, the making of a good compilation tape is a very subtle art. Many do’s and don’ts. First of all you’re using someone else’s poetry to express how you feel. This is a delicate thing;” “the making of a great compilation tape, like breaking up, is hard to do and takes ages longer than it might seem. You gotta kick off with a killer, to grab attention. Then you got to take it up a notch, but you don’t wanna blow your wad, so then you got to cool it off a notch. There are a lot of rules. Anyway… I’ve started to make a tape… in my head…” Here is Champ Kennedy’s head, poured out for you.

THE MIXTAPE BIN: THE OFFICIAL CHAMP KENNEDY OVERPLAYED COVER SONGS MIX

I’m tired of the same tired cover bands playing the same tired cover songs. Now, I want to make clear I don’t have problems with respectable cover bands; it’s the ones that cater to the lower demographic (frat boys, mid-Western PA divorced women) that I have major issues with. I realize the job of a cover band is to play what people know and what keeps them drinking, but there has to be a line drawn somewhere. Most of the songs on this list have an amazing original recording. Some are even unabashed musical classics. But they’re all overplayed (usually poorly) by shitty cover bands. As always, they are ordered from least annoying first all the way up to the most annoying cover song ever.

The Beastie Boys – “(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (to Party!)” – Included on principle alone. Great tune; changed hip-hop; great message. Unfortunately, people miss the fact that the B. Boys are making fun of “party” hip hop songs of the late ‘70s and early ‘80s. It’s tongue in cheek. Hell, they make fun of themselves throughout. And nobody can scream like the Adams and Mr. Diamond.

Green Day – “American Idiot” – When did Green Day become the political voice of our generation? I know they “spoke” for the youth back in the ‘90s (though they never spoke for me), but they’ve turned president bashing into a fad. I’m not against president bashing; I’m against fads. Also, my biggest problem with this song being covered is that it always sounds like shit even though it’s a fairly easy song to play.

Violent Femmes – “Blister in the Sun” – Nobody can perform this song like Gordon Gano. End of story.

Van Morrison – “Brown Eyed Girl” – Usually performed fairly well, but I can’t go out on a weekend without hearing some otherwise god-awful band crooning it.

Rage Against The Machine – “Bulls on Parade” – Easy riff and one of the few metal songs that almost everyone can enjoy. It gets the metal kids going, but also gives an energy boost to the whole bar. Unfortunately, I know few bands that don’t play this song. (Renegade Revival gets a pass on this and all other RATM songs.)

J. Geils Band – “Centerfold” – I’m sick of the nananana chorus. Fuck you and write some lyrics. And why must everybody clap? That’s what drumsticks are for, asshole. Give the drummer something to do during this song.

John Cougar – “Jack & Diane” – Mellencamp back when he was just the cougar. My biggest gripe about overplaying this song is that it’s always played straight. Imagine if it was performed in a country western style. Or better yet, as a death metal tune. Double bass pedal, anyone? Consider the possibilities with the riff and the drumbeat. Your hair’s already windmilling, isn’t it?

Rage Against The Machine – “Killing In The Name” – I’m tired of bands playing this song. By playing it, you are in fact doing what they told you. You do not know your enemy and you are not taking the power back. You are doing EXACTLY what they want you to do. You are spending money on an acceptable, legal drug while drunkenly raising a middle finger to the establishment. Who cares? They already got your money and they’re going to arrest you for driving drunk. Yeah, the revolution is imminent.

Guns N Roses – “Paradise City” – Another example of an okay song being overplayed when the artist has so many classics. Why not “You Could Be Mine” or “Mr. Brownstone?”

Def Leppard – “Pour Some Sugar On Me” – Why? I didn’t even like this song when it was a hit. Why do people still enjoy this unabashed attempt at a hit? How about “Rock of Ages” or “Photograph?” Hell, I’d even take “Armageddon It” over this trite nonsense.

John Cougar Mellencamp – “R.O.C.K in the U.S.A. (A Salute to ‘60s Rock)” – I don’t even know how I’m supposed to feel about this song (other than wanting to rip my own larynx out) and I wish bands would stop playing it.

Sublime – “Santeria” – I hated this song when it came out, I still do, and I wish people would let it go.

Weezer – “Say It Aint So” – As soon as a peer covers your song you can consider it overplayed. I almost killed myself when I heard the Deftones play this straight (no metal influence at all)! And I love the D-tones!

TOOL – “Sober” – Both bands and drunks miss the entire point of this song. I know, I get it: it’s funny to sing along aand ask why we can’t be sober when we’re all drunk. You’re an idiot. Fuck off and die. DO NOT DISRESPECT THE POWER OF TOOL. In fact, there should be a new rule: no band can cover TOOL (except Renegade Revival).

Disturbed – “Stupify” – See Sublime above. (Also, as much as I hate him, David Draiman does have an amazing voice that nobody can match during his screams and grunts.)

Bryan Adams – “Summer of ’69” – In my view just an overplayed song. Usually performed well, but it’s a fairly simple song, so who cares.

Neil Diamond – “Sweet Caroline” – Another opportunity for drunks to act like assholes. Easy to play; a regular no-brainer. Sometimes I don’t know where people keep their brains, and no self-respecting band should ever cater to drunken idiots. Not even to honor Neil Diamond.

a-ha – “Take On Me” – I’m not certain why bands cover this song; the video was always so much greater than the song itself. Not a terrible song, but anything can get old if you experience it too many times.

Poison – “Talk Dirty To Me” – Hit it, CC! My observation: drunk divorced chicks love this song? Are they trying to recapture their youth? Days gone by? Or Bret Michaels?

The Buggles – “Video Killed The Radio Star” – Did it? Then why are songs still rated on the number of times played on the radio? Did radio disappear? I don’t think so. Artists make a lot of money on radio playtime and don’t make much (other than collateral money) from videos. This song made the list (and wins the top spot) because it’s simple, stupid, untrue, trite, and annoying as fuck.

2 responses to “THE MIXTAPE BIN: THE OFFICIAL CHAMP KENNEDY OVERPLAYED COVER SONGS MIX

  1. this list makes me want you to impregnate me with your butt baby. I don’t even care.

  2. You forgot Possum Kingdom, Plush, Hard to Handle, hey Jealousy, there are so many. My band plays 8 of these rode hard and left wet tunes. However, I’m still shocked how people still wanna hear these damn songs. I guess I’ve spent to much time around and playing in cover bands.

Leave a Reply

