The long list of things that have been pissing me off lately (tonight we rant in hell part 1)

1 out of 4 homeless are veterans.

I don’t know who to blame more for this, them or you. I am not going to sugar coat this, I’m an asshole and that’s just how it goes. Truth be told I admit upfront I am an asshole as compared to anyone else who writes shit on the internet. They are assholes too, but they spend all day trying to think up ways to hide it and in the end you get opinions that are so watered down they can’t even be considered opinions. That being said, it is no surprise to me that 25% of all the people bugging me for change are vets. Here’s where me being an asshole kicks into high gear.

I’m shocked it isn’t more like 75%. Let’s be completely honest here, at least 60% of people that enter military service as enlisted members (not officers) do so because they didn’t try in high school, can’t get any job other than flipping a fucking burger and decide if they want to move out of mommy’s basement, they can get paid a bit more in the military. Now I will say that it is admirable that they don’t just want to try and sap welfare dry and actually want to earn their pay, but they aren’t exactly the cream of the American crop. Then they get in, get through basic training and find that at least for the first few years of service, the clothing they wear most often is provided to them and if they want to they can live and eat on base and in reality not have to spend any where near as much as your average American to stay alive.

Now, compound all this with the fact that all of this patriotic bullshit that ever soldier is a super hero is shoved so far up their asses that they think their shit doesn’t stink and they begin to believe they are untouchable. In actuality anyone in an infantry position is basically just a bullet catcher. 2×4 on a remote control car can serve the same purpose. Beyond that there is a large amount of troops that do jobs that a trained monkey can do and though they are important to the military they have no relevance in the civilian world, but because the average soldier now thinks he has god like status because every redneck fuck out there has 30 ribbon magnets on their car and dirty whores the world over know that military men come with a military paycheck that they need help spending they don’t take the time to cash in on the fact that while they are enlisted they get dirt cheap education and when they get out they just piss away their G.I. Bill.

So they serve their term, yet because they didn’t originally joined the military because they actually gave a damn they get out. They quickly find that they have no job skills, no training for anything worth while, and no education to speak of, and unless they can get a job as a rent-a-cop or a Wal*Mart greeter they are pretty much shit out of luck. After that the reality will set in that all those people that pretend to give a damn because it is socially required don’t actually care and they can’t pay their bills.

Eventually they end up homeless because the only real skill they learned in the military was how to let the government take care of them and lets face it, the clothing they wear most often is provided to them and if they want to they can live and eat and the homeless shelter.

Now before you go get all pissy let me explain a few things, the other 40% of enlisted men and women are truly soldiers. The join the service because they love their country and are willing to fight and die for it. They are willing to defend my right to jump online and bitch about washed up vets. They really are worthy of every ounce of praise we can poor on them. On top of that the reason I KNOW the others only join the military to escape is because that is exactly what I did after I left high school. Luckily for me and everyone else I realized right away that i didn’t really care and I didn’t believe in it enough to be willing to die for this country, I also don’t litter my car with magnets and stickers praising every soldier, but I sure as shit will buy a drink for any freshly recycled soldier I run into when I am out for the evening.

The point I am trying to make is simple, if a person joins the military because that is what they want out of life then good for them, they will probably be fine. If a person joins the military because they have no other options, but then they get in and make the most of it and take all the free education they can get, then good for them, they will probably make it. Hell even if the person goes in re ups twice because they know they can’t get a job in the real world, but then really tries to make something of themselves, good for them, they will probably be just fine. However, if they only joined the military because they want the government to take care of them and they do nothing for themselves, they are going to become nothing and no one is really going to give a damn.

On to the next one!

8 responses to “The long list of things that have been pissing me off lately (tonight we rant in hell part 1)

  1. I have an issue with your breakdown of enlisted memvers of the armed forces. Not that you’re waay off base or that you’re truly an asshole (which I think you really might be) but that you’re missing a significant section of the enlistees. I’d venture to say that around 40% of people join because it was a decent option Not that you didn’t try in school, but maybe it wasn’t for you. Or college drop outs. People just join up because it’s a JOB. Sometimes it turns into a career, sometimes it doesnt. According to your breakdown you’re either a hero/patriot or a lazy mooching illiterate scumbag. There’s a decent amount of people who don’t fit in either category.

    Asshole.

  2. I didn’t purposely try to ignore that section of the military, they just didn’t make it into my rant until the end. “The point I am trying to make is simple, if a person joins the military because that is what they want out of life then good for them, they will probably be fine. If a person joins the military because they have no other options, but then they get in and make the most of it and take all the free education they can get, then good for them, they will probably make it. Hell even if the person goes in re ups twice because they know they can’t get a job in the real world, but then really tries to make something of themselves, good for them, they will probably be just fine.”

    The point of my rant is that the same douche bags that have been trying to shove this super patriotic bullshit down my throat for the last six years are now trying to make me feel bad for a small group of people that can’t handle real life and never would have been able too anyway, yet just because they served in the military we should pay attention.

    Why is there no break down of how many of those poor bastards actually were productive members of society and just suffered from massive shell shock. Those are the ones that truly deserve pity.

  3. Also, I’m glad to see you’re paying attention to what I’m not including, it means you think like an intelligent person and not taking it at face value. The asshole at the end was nicely done as well.

  4. Wow! I didn’t read this entire thing, it comes off as your slamming anyone enlisted in the military. My parent’s didn’t enlist because they couldn’t take care of themselves. This post is based on ignorance, sorry, you do not know the military at all. This is obvious. A lot of vets come back with PTSD … post traumatic stress disorder, thus making it hard for them to function normally in civillian life because of recurring nightmares and blackouts and depression. They didn’t become bums because they couldn’t take care of themselves and no longer had the government to do it for them. Being able to shop at the PX and commissary and living on base for cheaper is how it should be considering most soldiers pay. They work fucking hard everyday, the military isn’t a joke. My father was always deployed somewhere and away from us kids growing up. Military men and women earn their pay, most civillians couldn’t hang a day in the life of a soldier. You need to take this bullshit and shove it back up your ass. As for my parents having no job skills, haha, my mom is now an employee for the state of Pennsylvania, and her extra 10 veteran points on her state exam didn’t get her the job, she already scored a 100 before her points were even placed! As for my father who is also a former united states ARMY drill sergeant and by far the meanest motherfucker I know, he owns a small trucking company. Again, he had other options and job skills. Sorry, I disagree with you and anyone else who feels this way about our military. And I despise President Bush haters, too. The man got enough people to vote him in to office .. twice, haha. That’s all.

    They really are worthy of every ounce of praise we can poor on them.

  5. You probably should have read the whole thing as I bring up almost all of the points you talk about. I’m not slamming the military, I am slamming the fact that the bulk of the “vets” that are homeless would have been if they were in the military or not so why should i give an extra dam n about them just because they are vets. Beyond that I also openly admit that any poor bastard suffering from ptsd does need help. Ignorance is making a comment about something you don’t understand…kinda like you just did by saying all that without reading and understanding what i was saying.

    It boils down to the fact that I don’t think people should be respected JUST because they were in the military. Need proof? Move to a place like oh…i dunno a town that exists because of a military base, lets say…Rapid City for example and you’ll see, there are a lot of people that are otherwise fucking worthless.

    I have nothing against the military in general, most of my family is enlisted as are my two best friends, as was I. I just don’t like all the super patriotic horse shit that goes with it.

  6. Your blog makes interesting reading, but is very difficult for my old eyes with the dark background. Is that intentional?
    Anyway, I had a brother who did time with the 1st Cavalry in Vietnam, came back to his civilian job, married and raised 2 beautiful children. He had a perfectly normal life until the Agent Orange caught up with him Point is: He always said that most of those who had trouble adjusting to civilian life after the military probably were not all that well adjusted before they went to war.

  7. Yes the color scheme is dark on purpose. That is one of the changes we are planning on making when we re launch this site after the first of the year.

    I think your brother hit the nail right on the head. My point was never that all people who go into the military are lazy and that’s why so many are homeless, my point was that more and more people are joining the military only because they want someone to step in and take care of them after mommy kicks them out.

  8. just to let you know that I find your blog interesting, but I am not going to read it anymore until you get rid of that black background. That is soooo hard to read. Now that pisses ME off.

Leave a Reply

