Band of the Week- 12/27/07

This week my vote for favorite band has to be cast upon The Queens of the Stone Age .

I first got into the Queens in college when I was perusing the selection of goods at my favorite Pittsburgh record store. I was in Oakland across the street and upstairs from the cheap Chinese buffet and as was our tradition, that night we got really high, went to the Golden Palace on Forbes then after eating we would stumble around until we found a patsie to buy us liquor. At any rate we were in the music store when I came across the album “Rated R”. I wasn’t sure why, but I HAD to have it. I took it home, popped it in and listened to it for two weeks straight.

After that I was hooked, I made it my mission to acquire any recordings the Queens made bootleg or not, I made it my goal to see every show with in a drivable distance and I annoyed my friends by putting their cds on loop.

When “Songs for the Deaf” came out it really lit a fire under my ass. I still to this day think it is one of the 100 most amazing albums I have ever heard. I caught them on tour with RHCP and I will say I have always been an RHCP fan until they started to slip and put out “Californication”, hell I even semi-dug “One Hot Minute” for what it was, but the truth is I have seen every Peppers tour that I was physically able to make it too since “Mother’s Milk” so I went. The Peppers didn’t impress me at all, but the Queens at that show were the best I had ever seen them. They were simply amazing.
Since then they have put out “Lullabies to Paralyze” and “Era Vulgaris”, both of which were outstanding.
If by this point you have never heard the Queens your ass does very much need to be kicked.

If you have heard of them and you’re into them, check out Josh Homme’s other band “The Eagles of Death Metal” and prepare to have your fucking mind destroyed. I love em and you will too…I command it.

Leave a Reply

