A Few Of My Favorite Records (That Time Forgot) Part 1

Now it’s time for the Infamous Stratt to tell you what to do. If it isn’t enough that i tell you what movies to watch, now I’m telling you what albums (that means CD’s kiddies) to listen to.This is a new column of the greatest albums ever made, over rated, and under rated, that if you do not have, you will run to the store after reading this to buy them. The band to the following albums can thank me later.

Now, let’s begin.

Live

Throwing Copper

1994

Laugh if you want, but Live’s “Throwing Copper” is one of the greatest Cd’s ever made. This is one of those albums where you can listen to the entire CD all the way through. There are the regular classics such as “Selling The Drama”, “I, Alone” and ” and “Lightning Crashes” which I’m sure all of you have heard at some point in your life, unless you’ve been living in a cave the last 15 years. But other then the obvious hit singles, the album offers other great songs as well. “The weavers live up the street from me” is the opening line to the classic “Shit Towne” which I’m sure anyone living in a shit town can relate to. There no better chorus then “gotta live, gotta live, gotta live in shit town!” And of course my favorite line “The mail visits each of us in time”. My second favorite swell song from this forgotten album is waitress. “Come on baby leave some change behind, she was a bitch but i don’t care…she brought our food out on time and wore a funky beret in hair”. Hey he’s right…everybody’s good enough for some change.

“The dam at otter creek”, “Iris”, “Top”, “All over you” are also great songs  worth radio air play. I’m pretty sure those four songs have been on the radio. Especially “All Over You” since it WAS a single. The song titled T.D.B. was alright, probably my least favorite on the cd, but i can still listen to it. That also goes for “stage” which is just a short rock song.

“Pillar of division” is a fantastic weird ass song…”The Shepard won’t leave me alone. He’s in my face…” great lyrics…kinda dark for Live and a little strange as well.Let’s not forget about “White Discussion” which also gets some pretty decent airplay…well at least it did a few years back. “Look where all this talking got us baby”.

I’m telling you, go to the music store, a swap shop, or even your local Wal-Mart. Or hell, download the CD from I-tunes or something…but buy “Throwing Copper”. I assure you, you will not regret it or my name isn’t billy joe haslebith. Oh wait, i guess it isn’t. Yeah well anyway, buy the Cd anyway. It’s truly a classic.

Hey Stupid! Does not endorse downloading illegal pirated music and burning it to a CD for free saving you like $20. No, don’t do that. You’ll end up in prison with a cell mate named Bubba.

– StraTT

One response to “A Few Of My Favorite Records (That Time Forgot) Part 1

  1. That’s only one record. Not a few as you may have indicated.

Leave a Reply

