Movie View: Hancock

So I checked out this flick last night. As most of you know I don’t really go out to see a lot of movies. I mean don’t get me wrong, I like to go out and experience a movie in the theater the way god intended, but through luck, clollecting and contributions from others, my DVD collection numbers in the thousands and there are many I still haven’t seen.

Anyhow, last night I watched the Will Smith movie “Hancock”. I will say right up front I give it seven out of ten stars. The first thing that a viewer needs to understand is that this is NOT a comic book movie, it is a super hero movie. The difference being that this movie is not based off of a comic book. With that in mind I will say that the movie had a great story and AMAZING special effects but left me with a void after watching. Usually if a movie leaves me wanting more it is a good thing. It is because I didn’t want the movie to end. In this case I wanted more because I felt there wasn’t enough there to begin with.

The writer had some really great ideas on the fact of how they got their powers and how it was explained that he and another character (trying not to give too much away) were connected, but it seemed like as soon as momentum got built in one direction the movie went another. It seemed like this was 3 separate movies all crammed into one at times. I love story, a super hero flick and a tale of acceptance, but all three of them suffered to meet the demands of the running time.

Don’t get me wrong, I really liked this movie and I would recommend it to anyone, but there was just so much more that could have been done. For example there is a reoccurring image in the movie that Hancock draws every where of an adult and a smile child holding hands amid fire and what I assume is an eagle, but they never explain it. Also he has an obsession with eagles which is never explained. At the very end of the movie they toss in a villain but it just seemed like he was added to have a vehicle to end the movie.

The most surprising part of the whole movie for me was Will Smith dropping the F Bomb from time to time.

In summary, it is a good flick and you should check it out. As a true comic book fan I like to see super heroes with major problems and lives in shambles because it makes me feel better about my own life. On top of all that Charlize Theron looked smoking hot in this movie.

~Rocky

Leave a Reply

