Book It! The adventure begins!

book-itLadies and Gentlemen, I am embarking on a quest. When I was a kid there was a program in my school (and I am sure most of yours) called “Book It!” that was put on by Pizza Hut. The point of this program was to get kids to read. I guess the thinking was, “All kids love pizza, if they read five books, shit, give em a pizza”.

When you start out in Book It! you got a pin like the one pictured above and every time you finished a book you got a gold star. Five gold stars and that personal pan pizza was yours. Being that I grew up out in the middle of nowhere with out a lot of other kids around I spent a lot of time reading and I got a lot of free pizza.

Now that I am getting older I realize that I still read quite often (about a book every two weeks) but generally I am not to strict on myself about reading and that when I don’t read I can feel myself being less creative. So I have decided to compile a list of books that I want to either re-read, or read for the first time. My plan is to finish this list by the time I am 30. I am 27 now so I am giving myself ample time.

I am starting with “East of Eden” and “The Sun Also Rises” and going from there. As I finish a book I will put up a “gold star” with a brief opinion of the book. Hopefully every time I get five gold stars someone buys me a damn pizza.

Less Than Zero
The Rules of Attraction
American Psycho
The Informers
Glamorama
Lunar Park
Don Quixote
Naked Lunch
Junkie
The Soft Machine
Dead Fingers Talk
Breakfast at Tiffany’s
The Torrents of Spring
The Sun Also Rises
A Farewell to Arms
To Have and Have Not
For Whom the Bell Tolls
Across the River and Into the Trees
The Old Man and the Sea
Islands in the Stream
The Garden of Eden
True at First Light
Three Stories and Ten Poems
In Our Time
Men Without Women
Winner Take Nothing
The Snows of Kilimanjaro
Catcher in the Rye
Nine Stories
Franny and Zooey
Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction
The Rum Diary : A Novel
Hells Angels: A Strange and Terrible Saga
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream
Fear and Loathing: On the Campaign Trail ’72
Gonzo Papers, Vol. 1: The Great Shark Hunt: Strange Tales from a Strange Time
The Curse of Lono
Gonzo Papers, Vol. 2: Generation of Swine: Tales of Shame and Degradation in the ’80s
Gonzo Papers, Vol. 3: Songs of the Doomed: More Notes on the Death of the American Dream
Screw-jack:and other stories
Gonzo Papers, Vol. 4: Better Than Sex: Confessions of a Political Junkie
Kingdom of Fear: Loathsome Secrets of a Star-Crossed Child in the Final Days of the American Century
Fight Club
Survivor
Invisible Monsters
Choke
Lullaby
Diary
Haunted
Rant
Snuff
The Big Bounce
Three-Ten to Yuma and Other Stories
Swag
Unknown Man No. 89
Killshot
Get Shorty
Rum Punch
Naked Came the Manatee
Be Cool
Out of Sight
Stranger in a Strange LandStarship Troopers
The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress
Tunnel in the Sky
Citizen of the Galaxy
Orphans of the Sky
Double Star
Red Planet
Revolt in 2100 & Methuselah’s Children
Variable Star
Glory Road
Have Spacesuit, Will Travel
Starman Jones
To Sail Beyond The Sunset
Job: A Comedy of Justice
The Man Who Sold The Moon
The Notebooks of Lazurus
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
The Restaurant at the End of the Universe
Life, the Universe and Everything
So Long, and Thanks For All the Fish
Mostly Harmless
Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency
The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul
The Salmon of Doubt
Ishmael
The Story of B
My Ishmael
Beyond Civilization
This Side of Paradise
The Beautiful and Damned
The Great Gatsby
Tender Is the Night
The Last Tycoon

One response to “Book It! The adventure begins!

  1. If I were you, I’d skip the Daniel Quinn and go straight to Endgame vol 1 & 2 by Derrick Jensen… That is, if you think you’re ready for it.

Leave a Reply

