The Booze Blog Number 1

I have decided that as I descend into alcoholism I should make a chronicle of my adventures. Henceforth I shall call these tales, “The Booze Blog”.  The general purpose of my booze blog will be to keep you all informed of what I am drinking. I won’t so I am an alcohol conisure, but I drink enough of it to know a little bit. So what I will do is tell you what I am drinking on a particular day, write a review and let you know what I think.

Stoney’s:  Stoney’s is perhaps the best beer I have ever had the pleasure of drinking. It is brewed locally in Pittsburgh by the Jones Brewing Company and it is available in Regular, Light and Returnable pints. As of late I have been drinking the returnable pints. The thing that is cool about this beer is that it is sugar and salt free, at least according to the chick at my local distro and all I know is that I can drink 18 to 20 pints, normally doing some through my beer bong “Ol’ Glory” which can hold a six pack at a time without waking up with a hang over.  The returnable pints go for $18.60 a case and I highly recommend it.

Stoneys-Beer-Crowns-Jones-Brewing-Company_23145-1

Knight’s Head Lager: This is perhaps the cheapest beer I have ever stumbled upon. It is brewed by the Lion Brewery in Wilkes Barre, PA and goes for around $9.00 a case for bottles. It tastes like oatmeal and pickles and is slightly higher in alcohol content than most beers. Here’s the thing, if you are low on cash it is much better than Old Beast, Beast Ice, Milwaukee Beast , Red Dog, Ice House, Natty, Natty Ice or Keystone, but it isn’t that good. I have had three bottles of this stuff so far, the first was just normal…pop the top and down it, and I could barely finish it. The second was pounded through Ol’ Glory and to be quite honest, as a beer bong fluid, it wasn’t that bad and the final was as a buffer between other beers I enjoy and hard liquor. I can not stress enough that this is a cheap party beer and should not be looked up as any thing more.

ent057cSteel Reserve: Steel Reserve is produced by the Steel Brewing Company which as far as I have been able to find is owned by Miller. The beer claims to be “Extra Gravity” but in reality is extra shitty. I first came across this beer because I was out of town for a while and while hammered I went to buy a case of beer and I saw this. I was so drunk that I confused “Steel” with “Iron” as in Iron City and thinking it was an I.C. product I bought it. If I hadn’t have been so hammered I would have realized what shit I had been drinking at the time, but, eh, what can you do. My recommendation is to steer clear of this. Yes, because of the “Extra Gravity” it will fuck you up, but it also tastes like dog semen.

steelreserve_w

Bacardi Superior: This is the classic clear rum. I will never ever say anything bad about Bacardi. I have had way too many fond memeories fueled by the bat. I love the taste of this stuff straight, in a rum and coke or mixed into a mojito. You and I both know that there is cheaper stuff out there, but it isn’t worth sacrificing the quality.

bacardi_superior_storWell kids, that is it for tonight. I have about 1000 products I want to review, but if there is anything you want me to try and write a review of, feel free to let me know. In that vain, are there any types of beer or liquor you are particularly fond of?

Read our second Booze Blog

Leave a Reply

