A call for help.

Original email

Can all of you do me a favor? Can you all read what follows and write to Gamestop on my behalf in reference to inquiry KMM5211805I15977L0KM?

http://www.gamestop.com/gs/help/TechnicalProblem.aspx

Greetings,

How are you this evening? Good I hope.

I on the other hand find myself very frustrated with your company, your policies and your customer service.

My name is Eirc J. Croyle and I live in Johnstown, PA. I am writing you because I have found no other option to actually talk to some one who can help me out and if I am not helped this IS going to become a legal matter.

During Christmas of this last year my wife purchased a refurbished XBOX 360 for me. I was very excited to receive the 360 but as a professional salesman, I sell motorcycles and power sports equipment, I was surprised that the refurbished system not only didn’t come with a hard drive but that a salesman didn’t explain that to my wife so that she could purchase it, which she would have happily done. Instead I had to wait almost 3 weeks to finally be able to purchase a hard drive in my local store since it took them that long to get one in stock.

Three months later we moved into a different house and we bought a router so I decided to try and use the XBOX Live service. As it turns out, the 360 that was sold to me had been previously banned from XBOX Live and I couldn’t connect. I explained this to your store manager and after a week of talking back and forth with her she finally agreed that I was entitled to swapping out the 360.

Now, my original 360 was a wireless unit, the one they tried to give me in return was a wired unit, so after a bit more persuasion I finally got it all straightened out. A month later that one stops working. I sat down one night, turned it on, all the fans started up and then I got a red ring. I tried to get it to work properly a couple times then called the store back and spoke with the manager. She told me she needed to talk to corporate and she would get back to me. 10 days later I called back and she said to bring it up and swap it out again. I did and brought the THIRD system home.

It worked for 2 days. 2 DAYS. This one will turn on and I would say a quarter of the time it will start up properly and I start playing a game. After about 10 minutes the colors wash out in red and green and then it freezes. The other 75% of the time it starts up and I can hear all the sounds but there is no picture. I had assumed at first it must be my t.v. so I hooked up my PS3 and it worked just fine. Then I thought it must be the cable that runs from the 360 to my t.v. so I borrowed my friend’s and I had the same issue, indicating that it must be the system.

This evening when I tried to call the store it was too late and they were closed so I called the customer service number and explained my problem, the answer I was given was that there was nothing that could be done, I would have to take it up with the store, keep exchanging my system and keep purchasing warranties. When I explained that this is the third time and that this was unacceptable I was given a district manager’s number, 724-542-2475, and told his name was Bill, I could speak with him.

I called the number and received an automated message, “This Voicemail box is full, please try again later.”

This is when I decided to write to you.

The treatment I am receiving from your company is completely unacceptable. As I have previously mentioned, I am a professional salesman and have been for quite some time. I sell motorcycles and power sports equipment now and before that I sold cars, Nissans and Hyundais to be exact, and never did I treat a customer like this.

I realize that this is a refurbished system but you state in your store and on your website, “This pre-owned product is guaranteed to work and may not include an instruction manual or original box.” GUARANTEED.

I have the extra year extended protection plan but I will tell you I have had enough of this run around. I WANT SERVICE. I don’t want to exchange it for another broken system that doesn’t work. I don’t want to waste my time and my gas driving to a store that won’t solve the issue, I want an apology for all of this mess and I just want this product that I purchased from your company that you guarantee to work properly to work properly and I want to speak to an actual representative from your corporate offices.

I have been a very regular customer of GameStop and EB for years and I’d like to continue being so, but the time and manner in which this is handled is going to determine if that loyalty will continue. I appreciate your quick response to this issue.

X-BOX 360 Serial Number *************

Sincerely,

Eric J. Croyle.

Response from Gamestop

Thank you for contacting GameStop.com.
I do apologize for the service you have received from our stores. What I can do for you is provide you with the District Manager’s name and phone number. He will be able to assist you to locate a good working system. Below is his contact information.
Bill Hanson
724-542-2475
If you have any other questions, please feel free to respond to this email.
Best regards,
Chris
Customer Service Lead Agent

My Response

I already wrote this once, apparently you didn’t see that part so here it is again.
 
“I called the customer service number and explained my problem, the answer I was given was that there was nothing that could be done, I would have to take it up with the store, keep exchanging my system and keep purchasing warranties. When I explained that this is the third time and that this was unacceptable I was given a district manager’s number, 724-542-2475, and told his name was Bill, I could speak with him.
I called the number and received an automated message, “This Voicemail box is full, please try again later.”
This is when I decided to write to you. ”
 
Now, what can you do to make this right?

From Gamestop

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for contacting GameStop.com.
In this situation we recommend speaking with the store’s manager, who should have direct contact information for the store’s district manager. We regret any inconvenience that this may cause.
If you have any other questions, please feel free to respond to this email.
Best regards,
Justin
Customer Service Lead Agent

My Reply

I DO HAVE OTHER QUESTIONS!!!
 
It isn’t like I am being unreasonable or demanding that you exchange this one for a brand new one, which betwen hard drives and service contracts I have pretty much already paid for, I just want a working product not another bust piece of garbage and an appology. If you wanted to compensate with a gift card or something that probably wouldn’t be a bad idea either but again I don’t want to seem to demanding.
 
I just can’t believe how you people treat your loayl customers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s