Band of the Week

I know I have been lax in updating the band of the week but that’s just because I have to devote so much time to masturbating and not giving a shit. Truth is it has been a while since I have been so inspired as to nominate any band for such an honor. All that has changed!!!

Recently I have been focused on expanding my collection of great metal and in doing so I have come across a band called Alestorm and they are without a doubt the coolest band I have ever heard. I honestly don’t know I have survived this long without having them in my life.

alestormAlestorm are a group of guys from Perth, Scotland and they refer to their music as “True Scottish Pirate Metal”. That’s right, you read that correctly. Christopher Bowes,  Dani Evans , Gareth Murdock and  Ian Wilson make sweet ass heavy metal about pirates, the buckling of swash, mead, wenches, ale, Ol’ Spiced and death on the high seas.

I shit you not when I say that your life will never be the same after listening to this. Let me give you a rundown of all the awesomeness…

1)The music makes your heart race and instills a strong desire deep within your heart to swing from a mast and claim your booty.

2) The band is highly skilled at what they do, kickassness of the piracy angle aside, these guys just flat out rule.

3) They all seem to be all around cool guys, I mean they use a key-tar in their music and it sounds bad ass, plus they have a character named Christian Balestorm.

cbAs of right now they have two full length albums, “Captain Morgan’s Revenge” and “Black Sails at Midnight” and I can’t recommend enough that you go out and buy them right away. They also have some other stuff out there, collections of demos and singles as well as some stuff released under their previous name, Battleheart but you’ll have to search a little harder for that.

I wish I could put into words the depth of my love for this band.

Leave a Reply

