Don’t Be A Pussy or How I Quit Smoking.

I am a 29 year-old father of 3. I recently quit smoking, cold turkey after about 15 years. I have a short attention span, a shorter temper and all of my kids are under three. I started smoking when I was about 15, at the time it was because i looked old enough to buy smokes for my other friends with out getting carded so I just started buying them for myself.  Eventually I got up to smoking three packs of Camel Wides a day. Not smart on my part.

By the time I went into the Air Force at 18 I was hooked. I needed it. I had to quit for basic training. During my time in Tech School something else came up and I had a medical discharge. During the 7 weeks I had to wait for all the paperwork to go through I was actually prescribed cigarettes because the lack of nicotine gave me violent tendencies.

When I moved back home I started smoking Lucky Strikes. I smoked unfiltered Luckies for about 6 years, then I switched back to camel wides. Four years ago when I found out my wife was pregnant with my first daughter we decided to quit together.  Two years I went without smoking. I was active, I ran, I hiked, I went rock climbing, I enjoyed life. I started doing stand up comedy and being in bars and clubs with smoking 4 nights a week drove me to smoke again.

I have been smoking about 3 packs a week for the last 2 years and I hated myself for it. I loved smoking but I hated myself. 12 days ago I finished a pack and I decided not to ever buy another one. I went cold turkey and haven’t had one since and I am finally to the pint that the hourly cravings and the dizzy spells have gone away.

I am convinced the cravings will never really stop, but I hope to god that when they come on I can stop feeling like I need to murder someone. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve been tempted but every time I think about giving in or using some nicotine replacement therapy I just remind myself that, that shit’s for pussies, and I move on.

Leave a Reply

