Power down the self destruct sequence.

Alright folks,

As any of you long time readers know, I have been going 200 miles an hour down a road of booze, broads and bad decisions from day one. The thing is though, now I am in my 30’s, I have kids, I am happily divorced and dating again. I have a big boy grownup job now and I don’t necessarily have the “so what if it kills me” attitude I used to.

In the last year I lost 70 pounds, got a lot more active and feel a lot better but I am not where I want to be yet. I need to make a few more changes but I know if I don’t have complete strangers on the internet judging me and  making comments I will never stick to it.

So here is how I have changed my life thus far, hopefully I can stick to it.

I started studying about and eating a Paleo Diet

I know this is going to be a tough one for me, especially because I LOVE grains and dairy so much but I figure I am at least going to do the 30 day challenge, see how I feel and then follow it as closely as I can.

I quit smoking.

I know, I say every year that I quit smoking but this time I think it may actually stick. I set a step down plan, followed exactly, got off cigarettes and bought a pack of nicotine gum. I have the gum as a safety net but I haven’t had a cigarette in 5 days and I haven’t needed the gum yet.

I joined a gym.

The company that I work for has a free, 24 hour access gym in the building and this isn’t some shit hole with a few pieces of old equipment,  this is like a modern version of Drago’s gym in Rocky 4. I got a personal trainer and I have been sticking with it so far.

I tossed out all my old, worn, out-of-style clothes and started building a new wardrobe.

Alright, honestly, this is my girlfriend’s doing. I have been telling myself I need to take the plunge and build a new wardrobe for awhile but I just couldn’t make myself pull the trigger. Then I was reminded that you don’t dress for the job you have, you dress for the job you want. Really that applies for life in general.  Don’t dress for the life you have, dress for the life you want.

My new clothes make me feel better, more confident and more motivated. I can’t see anything wrong with that at all.

Today. 

Breakfast:

Unsalted, unroasted Brazil nuts, Almonds, and Walnuts

Spinach and tomatoes

Blueberry tea

Water

Lunch:

Paleo Beef beef bourguignon with spinach whipped cauliflower, tomatoes, onions and garlic

Unsalted Sunflower seeds

Snack: 

Blueberry tea

Beef Jerky

Total water for the day 128 oz

Leave a Reply

